For Early Childhood Education

Employee Portal Sign In

For Early Childhood Education

The Malvern School Celebrates Excellence at Their 2017 Annual Awards

Largest private preschool in the region honors the ‘best of the best’ amongst 25 school locations

GLEN MILLS, Pa. – In a celebration that honored the outstanding accomplishments of its directors, teachers, coordinators and schools, The Malvern School, a leader in early childhood education and the largest private preschool in the Philadelphia region, held its Annual Awards Celebration at The Radnor Hotel in Wayne, Pa., on Wednesday, September 27th.

The Malvern School established its Annual Awards to recognize the exceptional efforts by directors, teachers, coordinators and schools to uphold Malvern School’s mission and educational philosophy in providing the highest quality early childhood education and standards of excellence in its programs, curricula, school environment, stewardship, and health and safety at all its 25 school locations in Pennsylvania and New Jersey.

Teacher of the Year, Samantha Stevens from The Malvern School of Frazer with President, Kristen Waterfield

Highlights from the evening’s awards dinner included the Teacher of the Year award, which this year went to Samantha Stevens of Limerick, Pa. Ms. Samantha has consistently showcased a passion through a steadfast dedication to The Malvern School program. She continually fosters an encouraging attitude which instills a positive team-oriented work environment amongst her fellow teachers; she is a NAEYC mentor and has stepped into a leadership role many times at her school to assist the Director of Education. She also showcases the enthusiasm to grow as a teacher and most importantly she always puts the children first.  

Jennifer DeLaney of Blackwood, N.J., is this year’s Executive Director of the Year award winner. As the Executive Director of The Malvern School of Erial in Camden County since 2003, Jennifer was selected as this year’s winner for exemplifying the characteristics necessary to lead her school to operational success and therefore contributing to the prosperity of the company as a whole. Delaney has continually displayed the core values of The Malvern School over her 15 years with the company. She leads by example, is collaborative and respectful of her staff and colleagues, is open to new ideas and change and has displayed a strong support system to not only her school but other schools throughout the past year.

2017 Presidents’ Choice winner, The Malvern School of Erial’s Executive Director Jennifer DeLaney and President, Kristen Waterfield

The Malvern School of Erial also took home this year’s Presidents’ Choice award, which is personally selected by Malvern School Presidents, Kristen M. Waterfield and Joe Scandone. This coveted award is given to a school that shows consistent effort toward constant improvement in the operations of their school, and striving always to be exemplary. The winner of this award displays the characteristics and actions that define the core values of The Malvern School that include a strong leadership driven by Executive Director of the Year, Jennifer DeLaney, that always puts the children first by providing a creative, forward-thinking and successful program and curriculum that is proven to educate and nurture the students of The Malvern School of Erial.








2017 Rising Star Award Winner – The Malvern School of Blue Bell

The Malvern School of Blue Bell received this year’s Rising Star award. This recognition of quality is given to a school who goes above and beyond their responsibilities to enhance the lives of the students, the school, and the company as a whole and is on a path for success. The Malvern School of Blue Bell has only been open for one year and has displayed exceptional leadership, high Best Practice Assessment scores and a strong commitment to the Blue Bell community.

“The Annual Awards is absolutely my favorite evening of the year. It’s a night for us to celebrate the best of the best, and that is our directors, coordinators, teachers and staff,” stated Kristen M. Waterfield, President and Co-Founder. “As President, I am proud to celebrate our accomplishments and I am filled with gratitude for all the hard work that is put forth in our schools each day. And most importantly, I am grateful for the exceptional care and education that we provide our children and families.”








The Malvern School Annual Awards top honors went to:

  • Executive Director of the Year – Jennifer DeLaney, The Malvern School of Erial (N.J.)
  • Director of Education of the Year – Nicole Graeser, The Malvern School of Richboro (Pa.)
  • Teacher of the Year: -Samantha Stevens of Limerick, Pa., The Malvern School of Frazer (Pa.)
  • Big Q (Quality Standards) – The Malvern School of Richboro (Pa.)
  • Health and Safety Coordinator of the Year – Kerry Gratkowski, The Malvern School of Richboro (Pa.)
  • Curriculum Coordinator of the Year – Jennifer Plasha, The Malvern School of Glen Mills (Pa.)
  • Safe School – The Malvern School of Jackson (N.J.)
  • Best Place to Work – The Malvern School of Jackson (N.J.)
  • Families First – The Malvern School of Washington Township (N.J.)
  • 100% Club – The Malvern School of Malvern (Pa.)
  • Best Practices Assessment (BPA) Achievement – The Malvern Schools of Richboro (Pa.), Washington Township (N.J.), Warrington (Pa.), Oaks (Pa.), and Medford (N.J.)
  • Alex’s Lemonade Stand Highest Contribution – The Malvern School of Glen Mills (Pa.)
  • Alex’s Lemonade Highest Increase – The Malvern School of Marlboro (N.J.)
  • Platinum Performance – The Malvern School of Richboro (Pa.)
  • Presidents’ Choice – The Malvern School of Erial (N.J.)
  • Rising Star – The Malvern School of Blue Bell (Pa.)

For information about The Malvern School, visit

The Malvern School © 2024